In search of the Dublin Dolphins

On Sunday last, I headed off in the direction of Killiney as I had heard of so many people who had seen dolphins swimming in the Irish sea off the coast of Dublin/Wicklow. I had also heard that the best place to spot them was Killiney beach.

When I got there, I was met with huge disappointment. Not a single Dolphin in sight. I even had the zoom lens on my DSLR camera to see if they could be spotted with something more than the naked eye. Unfortunately, I was out of luck.

The light however made for great shooting conditions. It was that sort of “sun trying to break through the clouds” light that gives very pleasant landscape images. The beach was very busy ; a lot of people were out for a Sunday walk. This first image was a general landscape which captures the lighting. Because the contrast wasn’t too harsh, I was able to capture a good degree of high dynamic range.

Killiney Beach

Lots of people out for the day in Killiney. No sign of the Dolphins though

 

Beach Shelter

Graffiti 'd beach shelter.

 

I will make the effort to come back to this location for a sunrise shoot which would capture more vibrant colours and I might catch a glimpse of the Dolphins.

 

 

 

About swingking

I'm an amateur photographer and abosolute tech nut. I have really developed an online personality through social media such as twitter. View all posts by swingking

2 responses to “In search of the Dublin Dolphins

Leave a comment