Pancake day

Ask anyone what today is and they will straight away tell you that today is pancake tuesday. Half of them don’t really know what it’s all about. They know it’s something to do with religion and the more intelligent bunch will inform you that it’s the day when Jesus went into the desert for 40 days. What they do know is that for their dinner, they will be having pan cooked flour and egg mixture along with lemon, sugar and some other sweet topping such as chocolate or jam.

In fact I saw a very funny tweet by someone. “I wonder what toppings Jesus had on his pancakes, before he went into the desert?” I found it quite humourous to say the least.

Lemon is a spot in the centre of Dublin City Centre which serve nothing but pancakes. Instead of serving on Shrove Tuesday, you will find them open all year round (well maybe not Christmas day). On previous years I have seen large queues forming out the door on this day. They certainly were prepared by opening till 9pm. Pancake Tuesday to them must be how the high-steet stores feel about St. Stephen’s day.

Today however, it seemed surprisingly less busy. I managed to call by on my lunch-break from work and had no problem getting inside. It looked in-fact like any day at lunch.

Lemon sign

Pancakes anyone?

 

I tried to get a good look in the door to see if they were having better luck on the inside and they had the chefs working hard but it wasn’t crazy busy.

Pancakes2

Working hard

 

 

Maybe this is just a sign of these recessionary times. People can’t afford to spend their hard-earned cash on something that costs a fraction to make at home. It’s literally just eggs, flour and milk.

 

homemade pancake

Home-made pancakes are cheaper

 

That’s exactly what I decided to do for my pancake fix. I had the batter made from the night before using a simple recipe. Let me know how you eat your pancakes because for me it’s the simple, lemon and sugar

 

 

About swingking

I'm an amateur photographer and abosolute tech nut. I have really developed an online personality through social media such as twitter. View all posts by swingking

Leave a comment